Thursday, September 22, 2011

RUGBY WORLD CUP: South Africa v Namibia, Pool D

Venue: North Harbour Stadium, Albany
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Preview These Southern African neighbours have only meet once before in a test match. As a warm-up for both teams before the 2007 Rugby World Cup, South Africa won 105-13 in Capetown.
Of all the matches between the minnows and the leading sides at this world cup, this match has the potential to produce a blowout score. Namibia has lost two games so far by nearly 50 points to Samoa and Fiji. The Namibians found those to be tough games and this encounter means there will be not let up.
Namibia has a toughness and precision about their play that was evident firstly in 2007 and has continued in this tournament despite leaking nearly 50 points in each game so far. They will be playing for pride against their close neighbour. The relationship between South Africa and Namibia is a bit like that between Australia and New Zealand. Close cousins but once a scrap starts in the backyard it can get a little nasty. The Namibians will need to play outside their skins if they are going to match their neighbours in any facet of play. I wish them luck.
South Africa will not be fielding their top side. Make no mistake the South Africans are tough players, almost ruthless. They will not be wearing kid gloves when they take on the Namibians. Players will be out to impress the coach before the tough end of this tournament begins. Competition for places is tough.
GWC Rugby Rankings. World Table-South Africa 1st, Namibia 19th
Africa Table-South Africa 1st, Namibia 2nd
IRB Ranking Points South Africa 86.71, Namibia 61.24
Prediction: South Africa by 75 points
South Africa 15 Patrick Lambie, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn , 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Willem Alberts, 5 Danie Rossouw, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 John Smit, Capt., 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Francois Louw, 19 Heinrich Brüssow, 20 Fourie du Preez, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Juan de Jongh
Head Caoch: Pieter de Villiers
Namibia 15 Chrysander Botha, 14 Danie Dames, 13 Danie van Wyk, 12 Piet van Zyl,
11 Heine Bock, 10 Theuns Kotze, 9 Eugene Jantjies, 8 Jacques Nieuwenhuis, 7 Jacques Burger, Capt. 6 Tinus du Plessis, 5 Nico Esterhuyse, 4 Heinz Koll,
3 Marius Visser, 2 Bertus O'Callaghan, 1 Johnnie Redelinghuys.
Replacements 16 Hugo Horn, 17 Jane du Toit, 18 PJ van Lill, 19 Rohan Kitshoff, 20 Ryan de la Harpe, 21 Darryl de la Harpe, 22 Conrad Marais
Head Coach: Johan Diergaardt

No comments:

Post a Comment