Friday, September 23, 2011

RUGBY WORLD CUP: Australia v United States


Venue: Wellington Regional Stadium

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)

By just how much will Australia bounce back after their loss to Ireland last weekend? Win they will, but will the USA face an enormous backlash from the Aussie?

The Aussie are fielding very much their second-string players for this test match. It will be an opportunity for these players to push the leading candidates for a position. This is what makes today’s Australian side so dangerous.

The USA had better be at their best. I am still of the opinion that Australia is one of the danger teams in this competition. I still predict that they will be one of the teams in the final.

The United states is also fielding their reserve players, probably with the Italy match in mind, an encounter the Americans feel they have a good chance of winning.

Will Genia
Will Genia will lead Australia for the first time.

Last Five Encounters
14.10.1999 Australia 55-19 in Limerick (World Cup, Pool E)
08.07.1990 Australia 67-9 in Brisbane
31.05.1987 Australia 47-12 in Brisbane (World Cup)
09.07.1983 Australia 49-3 in Sydney
31.01.1976 Australia 24-12 in Los Angeles

These two teams first met way back in 1912. The Australia team toured North America that year. The United States has never won a test against Australia.

GWC Rugby Rankings
World Table-Australia 3rd, United States 17th

IRB Ranking Points
Australia 84.84, United States 66.38

Prediction: Australia by 75 points



15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Adam Ashley Cooper, 13 Anthony Faingaa, 12 Robert Horne, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper 9 William Genia,Capt. 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Benjamin McCalman 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Robert Simmons, 3 Benjamin Alexander, 2 Tatafu Polota Nau, 1 James Slipper.
16 Stephen Moore, 17 Sekope Kepu, 18 Daniel Vickerman, 19 Radike Samo, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Patrick McCabe.
Head Coach: Robbie Deans


15 Blaine Scully, 14 Colin Hawley, 13 Tai Enosa, 12 Junior Sifa, 11 Kevin Swiryn, 10 Nese Malifa, 9 Timothy Usasz, Capt. 8 JJ Gagiano, 7 Patrick Danahy, 6 Inaki Basauri, 5 Hayden Smith, 4 Scott LaValla, 3 Eric Fry, 2 Phillip Thiel, 1 Shawn Pittman.
16 Brian McClenahan, 17 Matekitonga Moeakiola, 18 Louis Stanfill, 19 Nicholas Johnson, 20 Michael Petri, 21 Roland Suniula, 22 Christopher Wyles.
Head Coach: Eddie O’Sullivan

No comments:

Post a Comment