Wednesday, June 9, 2010


Each year a number of tier 2 nations along with some 'A' teams from tier 1, meet up somewhere in North America (usually), to do battle for this prestigious cup.

Churchill Cup. Previous winners.

2003England 'A'United StatesCanada
2004NZ MaoriEngland 'A'Canada
2005England 'A'Argentina JaguarsUSA
2006NZ MaoriScotland 'A'Ireland 'A'
2007England SaxonsNZ MaoriIreland 'A'
2008England SaxonsScotland 'A'Ireland 'A'
2009Ireland 'A'England SaxonsArgentina Jaguars

Teams come and go each year. This year France 'A', Uruguay and Russia are the new teams in, whilst regulars Canada, USA and England Saxons return.

The teams are organised into two pools, A and B.
Pool A-Canada, Uruguay, France A
Pool B-England Saxons, Russia, USA

Teams in each pool play each other in the first 3 rounds, to be played in Denver, USA. The finals round, sees 1st place in each pool play the final, 2nd places play for the Bowl, 3rd places play for the plate. The finals round is being played in Harrison, New York City.

The tournament begins today, Wednesday 9 June. All games in the first 3 rounds are played in Infinity Park.

Round 1
England Saxons v Russia
France A v Uruguay

No comments:

Post a Comment