Wednesday, June 2, 2010

RUGBY TOURNAMENT: Asia Nations Division 2

Thailand v Philippines in New Delhi

Venue: Delhi University Stadium


This is the first match to be played in this tournament, held for the first time in India. Thailand were relegated from Division 1 last year whilst the Philippines were promoted from Division 3.

The Philippines has embarked on a player recruitment programme that may well reward with some results. Although there is a healthy local rugby competition in the islands, most of the players in this squad live overseas. From an initial squad of over 40 the selectors have whittled the list down to 24 after trails in Manilla, Brisbane and New York. There are only a few local players involved, a cause of some criticism, but one of the stated aims of the Union is to win this tournament.

Philippines Men's 15's squad. Image thanks to

In last year's Division 1 tournament, Thailand faced eventual winners Arabian Gulf in the first game and then lost heavily to Sri Lanka in the playoff, resulting in Thailand being relegated to this Division. They will be a tough team for all the others to defeat despite bringing a new squad with the idea of future development.

More Previews

No Previous Encounters

GWC Rugby Rankings
Asia Table-Thailand 11th, Philippines 12th
IRB Ranking Points-Thailand 40.84, Philippines not a member of IRB

Prediction: Thailand by 10 points.



Thailand Squad
Mulswas Adirek
Jaisutti Anuchit
Piromkraipak Chaisak
Banluesup Chaninthorn
Akkhanimart Chatchai
Wannadit Chatree
Promtaree Chestaphol
Chayapirom Kantachai
Juntaranakorn Khunsuk
Laksanasompong Klin
Chankasem Narongsak
Potipirom Nuntapol
Kiattibunyawat Nutthapong
Srichatpeth Phandet
Yingcharoen Pichit
Ngoentong Pongnatee
Anusaen Somjate
Meeprecha Suparat
Mapijan Suwat
Kuasint Tanyavit (Capt.)
Vorachate Vatchakorn
Chaiseema Vichit
Khamkoet Warongkorn
Head Coach: Wongratana Atapol

Adapted from team list sent by Thailand Rugby Union


Philippines Squad
Phil Abraham (Randwick, Australia)
Justin Coveney (Newtown)
Austin Dacanay (Tampa Krewe)
Michael De Guzman (Beecroft)
Jay Flores (Modena)
Ronald Fong (Old Blue)
Cleo Gomez (Souths)
Chris Hitch (Easts)
Gareth Holgate (UWIC)
Jake Letts (Warringah, Australia)
Michael Letts, Capt. (Warringah, Australia)
Fred Morris (British Armed Services)
Harry Morris (Dunvant)
Ben Saunders (Balmain)
Matt Saunders (Wentworthville)
Oliver Saunders (Wentworthville)
Ken Stern (Boston, United States)
Josh Sutcliffe (Charlotte)
James Ugarte (Hills)
Jaime Urquijo (Notre Dame)
Kenzo West (Devenport)
Andrew Wolff (Alabang Eagles, Philippines)
Raf Zapppia (Souths)
Rupert Zappia (Souths)
Head Coach: Expo Mejia

No comments:

Post a Comment