Saturday, October 30, 2010

RUGBY TEST MATCH: Bledisloe Rugby Arrives in Hong Kong

Australia v New Zealand in Hong Kong (Bledisloe Cup)

Venue: National Stadium

Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland)

Like it or not, test rugby matches between New Zealand and Australia attract big money. It costs and arm and a leg to hold this fixture in Hong Kong. It is an amazing coup to stage such a rugby test match extravaganza.

Will Australia be able to break the strangle hold New Zealand has over them? It pushed out to ten wins in a row and only two loses in their last eighteen encounters.

Daniel Carter returns to the New Zealand team in what looks a very familiar line up. Coach Graham Henry has resisted blooding a number of new players, including the controversial rugby league player, Sonny Bill Williams. I guess its time to hit the nail in the Aussie coffin one and for all for 2010. Europe will see the blooding of new players.

Australia coach Robbie deans will welcome back front rower Ben Alexander. he has been out for some time with injury and although he will steady the front row I can't see him lasting 80 minutes. Just what is needed to lift this Australian team to the level that I think they can achieve. I personally believe this side will tackle the All Blacks again during the 2011 Rugby World Cup-In the final!

Last Five Encounters

5 wins to New Zealand!

GWC Rugby Rankings
World Table
New Zealand 1st, Australia 2nd

Oceania Table
New Zealand 1st, Australia 2nd

IRB Ranking Points
New Zealand 94.77 (1st), Australia 85.56 (2nd)

Prediction: New Zealand again, this time by 8 points



15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O'Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom, Capt. 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Mark Chisholm, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benn Robinson.
16 Saia Faingaa, 17 James Slipper, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Richard Brown, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Lachie Turner.
Head Coach: Robbie Deans


New Zealand
15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Joseph Rokocoko, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 James Cowan, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw, Capt. 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Thomas Donnelly, 4 Bradley Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
16 Hika Elliot, 17 John Afoa, 18 Samuel Whitelock, 19 Daniel Braid, 20 Albert Mathewson, 21 Stephen Donald, 22 Isaia Toeava.
Head Coach: Graham Henry

No comments:

Post a Comment