Saturday, March 21, 2009

International Rugby: Scotland v England Updated

Scotland v England at Twickenham (6 Nations, Calcutta Cup)

The Calcutta Cup always bring out something special from both sides. This trophy has been played for since 1878 making it the oldest contested piece of silverwear at the international level. Recent form matters little as both sides bristle with pride and determination.

England has the home crowd advantage and a recent drubbing of France to boast about. last weekend we finally saw an England side play to its potential and silence some very vocal critics both in the public and the media. The English will want to finish their season on a high and winning back the Calcutta Cup would just about do that.

Ireland had to work hard to subdue Scotland last weekend. This Scottish side has been bubbling and murmering below the surface waiting for the opportunity to pounce. This is an inexperienced side that has been playing expansive rugby but without results. Tomorrow could be their day. Scotland hold the Cup after defeated England 15-9 at Murrayfield last season.

Last Five Encounters
18.03.2008 Scotland 15-9 at Murrayfield (6 Nations, Calcutta Cup)
07.02.2007 England 42-20 at Twickenham (6 Nations, Calcutta Cup)
25.02.2006 Scotland 18-12 at Murrayfield (6 Nations, Calcutta Cup)
19.03.2005 England 43-22 at Twickenham (6 Nations, Calcutta Cup)
21.02.2004 England 35-13 at Murrayfield (6 Nations, Calcutta Cup)

History is against Scotland winning at Twickenham on Saturday. The Scots have not won at Twickenham since 1983.

GWC Rugby Rankings: World Table-England 3rd, Scotland 8th
Europe Table-England 1st, Scotland 5th.

Prediction: Scotland's day, a win by 3 points.



15 Delon Armitage
14 Mark Cueto
13 Michael Tindal
12 Riki Flutey
11 Ugo Monye
10 Tobais Flood
9 Harold Ellis
8 Nicholas Easter
7 Joseph Worsley
6 Thomas Croft
5 Simon Shaw
4 Steven Borthwick (Capt.)
3 Phillip Vickery
2 Lee Mears
1 Andrew Sheridan
16 Dylan Hartley
17 Julian White
18 Nicholas Kennedy
19 James Haskell
20 Daniel Care
21 Andrew Goode
22 Mathew Tait
Head Coach: Martin Johnson


15 Christopher Paterson
14 Simon Danielli
13 Max Evans
12 Graeme Morrison
11 Thomas Evans
10 Phillip Godman
9 Michael Blair (capt)
8 Simon Taylor
7 Scott Gray
6 Alasdair Strokosch
5 James Hamilton
4 Jason White
3 Euan Murray
2 Ross Ford
1 Alasdair Dickinson
16 Douglas Hall
17 Moray Low
18 Nathan Hines
19 Kelly Brown
20 Chris Cusiter
21 Nicholas De Luca
22 Hugo Southwell
Head Coach: Frank Hadden

No comments:

Post a Comment