Friday, November 21, 2008

Test rugby: Canada v Scotland

Canada v Scotland in Aberdeen

This will be the first time a test match has been staged in the beautiful North of Scotland city of Aberdeen.

Canada move into this game with a few wounded. Fly half Ander Monro and captain Pat Riordan are unable to play to injury. They lost 10-26 to Scotland 'A' in Canada in the Churchill Cup contest back in June, and again to Scotland 'A' 10-15 back in 2006.

"It's possible the weather could slightly favour Canada - if the Canucks can deal with the bitter cold and wind expected at Pittodrie in Aberdeen. An arctic blast will be blowing through the ocean-side pitch on Scotland's East coast and forecasters are predicting snow and a consistently high wind for game time. Apparently - players may need to keep an eye out for one other thing on the pitch - fish. In high wind with big waves crashing nearby - it is not unknown for fish to be blown onto the pitch." I Like it!

Scotland have three players from the test against South Africa unavailable. They are Chris Paterson, Thom Evans and Jason White. I feel that Scotland can absorb such loses whilst Canada just does not have the depth.

Previous Encounters
15.06.2002 Canada 26-23 in Vanvouver
21.01.1995 Scotland 22-6 in Edinburgh

GWC Rugby Rankings: World Table-Scotland 6th, Canada 17th

Prediction: Scotland by 55 points.


15 Rory Lamont (Sale Sharks, England)
14 Simon Webster (Edinburgh)
13 Benjamin Cairns (Edinburgh)
12 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh)
11 Nikki Walker (Neath Swansea Ospreys, Wales)
10 Phil Godman (Edinburgh)
9 Mike Blair, Capt. (Edinburgh)
8 Simon Taylor (Stade Francais, France)
7 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester, England)
5 Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh)
4 Nathan Hines (Perpignan, France)
3 Euan Murray (Northampton, England)
2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh)
1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh)
16 Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors)
17 Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester, England)
18 Matt Mustchin (Edinburgh)
19 Scott Gray (Northampton, England)
20 Rory Lawson (Gloucester, England)
21 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors)
22 Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors)
Head Coach: Frank Hadden

15. James Pritchard (Bedford, England)
14. Sean Duke (University of Victoria)
13. Ciaran Hearn (Castaway Wanderers)
12. Ryan Smith (Calgary Irish)
11. Justin Mensah-Coker (Plymouth Albion)
10. Matt Evans (Hartpury College)
9. Ed Fairhurst, Capt.(Cornish Pirates, England)
8. Aaron Carpenter (Brantford Harlequins)
7. Adam Kleeberger (University of Victoria)
6. Jebb Sinclair (Castaway Wanderers)
5. Josh Jackson (Bordeaux Begles, France)
4. Tyler Hotson (Northern Suburbs, Australia)
3. Scott Franklin (Cornish Pirates, England)
2. Mike Pletch (Velox Valhallians)
1. Kevin Tkachuk (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)
16. Frank Walsh (Vandals RFC)
17. Mike Burak (Cornish Pirates, England)
18. Sean Michael Stephen (Plymouth Albion)
19. Morgan Williams (James Bay AA)
20. Nathan Hirayama (University of Victoria)
21. Bryn Keys (Velox Valhallians)
22. To be named
Head Coach: Kieran Crowley

Full complete lists of international rugby results by these two nations go to

No comments:

Post a Comment