Saturday, November 28, 2009

Test Match: Last Chance For Argentina

Argentina v Scotland at Murrayfield

Referee: Alan Lewis (Ireland)

It has been a most disappointing northern tour for Argentina. This has not been their strongest combination, blooding some new layers in the hot seast of British rugby.They have lost 9-16 to England and 16-33 to Wales. On Saturday they will meet a Scottish side on the rise after it's historic 9-8 win over Australia last weekend and with a clean sweep within their grasp.

Scotland will still have to deal with a strong Argentine forward pack. They did this in the last test on their tour to Argentina in 2008. There is a new feeling in this Scottish side and they could well do what was only hopeful in October, remain undefeated against all comers in the month of November.

Last Five Encounters
14.06.2008 Scotland 26-14 in Buenos Aires
07.06.2008 Argentina 21-15 in Rosario
07.10.2007 Argentina 19-13 in Paris (World Cup, Quarter-Final)
21.11.2005 Argentina 23-19 at Murrayfield
18.11.2000 Argentina 25-16 at Murrayfield

Scotland last defeated Argentina at Murrayfield way back in 1990. They won by a massive 49-3! Times have changed.

GWC Rugby Rankings: World Table-Scotland 4th, Argentina 9th

Prediction: Scotland by 16



15 R Lamont (Toulon, France)
14 S Lamont (Llanelly Scarlets, Wales)
13 A Grove (Worcester, England)
12 B Cairns (Edinburgh)
11 T Evans (Glasgow)
10 P Godman (Edinburgh)
9 C Cusiter (Glasgow, capt)
8 J Beattie (Glasgow)
7 A MacDonald (Edinburgh)
6 A Strokosch (Gloucester, England)
5 A Kellock (Glasgow)
4 N Hines (Leinster, Ireland)
3 M Low (Glasgow)
2 R Ford (Edinburgh)
1 A Jacobsen (Edinburgh)
16 D Hall (Glasgow)
17 K Traynor (Edinburgh)
18 J White (Clermont Auvergne, France)
19 R Vernon (Glasgow)
20 R Lawson (Gloucester, England)
21 C Paterson (Edinburgh)
22 N De Luca (Edinburgh)
Head Coach: Andy Robinson


15 Horacio Agulla (Brive, France)
14 Lucas Borges (Albi, France)
13 Gonzalo Tiesi (Harlequins, England)
12 Martin Rodriguez (Atletico de Rosario)
11 Federico Martin Aramburu (Dax, France)
10 Santiago Fernandez (Hindu Club)
9 Alfredo Lalanne (London Irish, England)
8 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, Capt. (Toulon, France)
7 Alejandro Abadie (Rovigo, Italy)
6 Alejandro Campos (Montauban, France)
5 Patricio Albacete (Toulouse, France)
4 Manuel Carizza (Biarritz, France)
3 Martin Scelzo (Clermont Auvergne, France)
2 Alberto Vernet Basualdo (Toulouse, France)
1 Marcos Ayerza (Leicester, England)
16 Agustin Creevy (San Luis)
17 Rodrigo Roncero (Stade Francais, France)
18 Estaban Lozada (Toulon, France)
19 Tomas Leonardi (San Isidro Club)
20 Agustin Figuerola (Club Atletico San Isidro)
21 Benjamin Urdapilleta (CUBA)
22 Horacio San Martin (Tala)
Head Coach: Santiago Phelan

No comments:

Post a Comment