Friday, November 27, 2009

International Rugby: The Russians Are Coming-To Canada

Russia v Canada in Vancouver

Venue: Swangard Stadium, Burnaby

Referee: Christopher Henshell (USA)

This is a weekend of historic events in international rugby. We have seen Fiji play in Bucharest for the first time and Tonga playing in Lisbon for the first time. Now we see the Russians visit North America for an historic first test, against Canada.

Mid-week the British Columbian Bears defeated Russia 38-16. The match display the rustiness of the Russians who will have improved with the outing. Canada has the advantage of more recent match play even if those outings were two large loses to Japan

Russia is in a very good position in its European Nations Cup competition to qualify for the 2011 Rugby World Cup finals

GWC Rugby Rankings: World Table-Canada 15th, Russia 20th

Prediction: Canada by 28 points



Russia Squad
Vasily Artemiev (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Mikhail Babaev (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Sergey Bazhenov (Enisey-STM-Krasnoyarsk)
Vladimir Botvinnikov (Enisey-STM-Krasnoyarsk)
Artem Fatakhov (Enisey-STM-Krasnoyarsk)
Igor Galinovskiy (Krasny Yar)
Andrey Garbuzov (Krasny Yar)
Victor Gresev (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Alexander Gvozdovskiy (Krasny Yar)
Alexander Khrokin (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Igor Kluchnikov (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Alexey Korobeynikov (Enisey-STM-Krasnoyarsk)
Vladislav Korshunov, Capt. (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Kirill Kushnarev (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Yuri Kushnarev (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Andrey Kuzin (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Carlo Maglakelidze (Enisey-STM-Krasnoyarsk)
Evgeny Matveev (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Pavel Novikov (Enisey-STM-Krasnoyarsk)
Alexey Panasenko (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Evgeny Pronenko (Enisey-STM-Krasnoyarsk)
Andrey Proshin (Capilano, Canada)
Alexander Shakirov (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Alexey Travkin (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Segey Trishin (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Alexander Voytov (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Alexander Yanushkin (VVA-Podmoskovje)
Head Coach: Nikolay Nerush

Thanks to ‘nnu’ at http://www.fira-aer-


15. Nathan Hirayama (University of Victoria)
14. Sean Duke (University of Victoria)
13. Matt Evans (Hartpury College, England)
12. James Pritchard (Bedford Rugby Club, England)
11. Justin Mensah-Coker (Moseley, England)
10. Ander Monro (Castaway Wanderers)
9. Sean White (James Bay AA)
8. Aaron Carpenter (Coventry RFC, England)
7. Adam Kleeberger (Rotherham Titans, England)
6. Chauncey O’Toole (Castaway Wanderers)
5. Tyler Hotson (Plymouth Albion, England)
4. Jebb Sinclair (Castaway Wanderers)
3. Doug Wooldridge (Cowichan RFC)
2. Pat Riordan, Capt.(University of Victoria)
1.Kevin Tkachuk (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)
16. Mike Pletch (Velox Valhallians)
17. Dan Pletch (Oakville Crusaders)
18. Tom Dolezel (London St. Georges) New cap
19. Brian Erichsen (Vancouver Meraloma) New cap
20. Mark MacSween (Balmy Beach RFC) New cap
21. Phil Mack (University of Victoria)
22. Mike Scholz (Oakville Crusaders) New cap
Head Coach: Kieran Crowley

No comments:

Post a Comment