Friday, June 19, 2009

International Rugby: Churchill Cup

England Saxons v Ireland 'A' in Denver (Final)

Both these teams deserve to be in the final. They have consistently put distance between themselves and their opponents who have mostly been full national teams. It must be of concern for the IRB that neither Canada nor the USA figured in this final.

The Saxons will be out to win this tournament for the second year in a row. Ireland 'A' has an unblemished record in its two matches so this final should be a cracker.

Prediction: Saxons by 7


England Saxons
15 Nick Abendanon (Bath Rugby)
14 Noah Cato (Saracens)
13 Dominic Waldouck (London Wasps)
12 Brad Barritt (Saracens)
11 Tom Varndell (Leicester Tigers)
10 Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints)
9 Micky Young (Newcastle Falcons)
8 Luke Narraway (Gloucester Rugby)
7 Ben Woods (Leicester Tigers)
6 Phil Dowson (Newcastle Falcons, captain)
5 Nick Kennedy (London Irish)
4 Stuart Hooper (Bath Rugby)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
2 Rob Webber (London Wasps)
1 David Flatman (Bath Rugby)
16 Tom Mercey (Saracens)
17 Joe Ward (London Wasps)
18 Dean Schofield (Sale Sharks)
19 Tom Guest (Harlequins)
20 Joe Simpson (London Wasps)
21 Danny Cipriani (London Wasps)
22 Shane Geraghty (London Irish)
Head Coach: Stuart Lancaster

Adapted from

Ireland 'A' team not available at present

Canada v Argentina 'A' in Denver

Canada won well against Georgia but hten lost the crucial game against Ireland 'A'. Last year they played in the 5th-6th playoff so I guess you could say they have improved. Argentina 'A' pushed the Saxons in their first game and then won comfortable against the USA. This should be another fairly even contest

Prediction: Argentina 'A' by 7


15. James Pritchard (Bedford Blues, England)
14. Sean Duke (University of Victoria)
13. DTH van der Merwe (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)
12. Bryn Keys (Moseley, England)
11. Matt Evans (Hartpury College/Cowichan, BC)
10. Ander Monro (Colorno, Italy)
9. Ed Fairhurst (Cornish Pirates, England)
8. Aaron Carpenter (Coventry, England)
7. Nanyak Dala (Castaway Wanderers)
6. Stan McKeen (Oxford University, England)
5. Tyler Hotson (UBC Old Boy Ravens)
4. Jebb Sinclair (Castaway Wanderers)
3. Dan Pletch (Niagara Thunder)
2. Mike Pletch (Velox Valhallians)
1. Frank Walsh (Vandals)
16. Pat Riordan (University of Victoria)
17. Doug Wooldridge (Cowichan)
18. Stuart Ault (Moseley, England)
19. Chauncey O’Toole (Castaway Wanderers)
20. Adam Kleeberger (University of Victoria)
21. Dean Van Camp (Velox Valhallians)
22. Phil Mack (James Bay AA)
Coach: Kieran Crowley

Argentina 'A'
15 Lucas Barrera Oro
14 Francisco Merello
13 Matías Viazzo
12 Benjamín Urdapilleta
11 Tomás De Vedia
10 Ignacio Mieres
9 Martín Landajo
8 Tomás Leonardi
7 Leonardo Senatore
6 Alejandro Campos
5 Carlos Cáceres
4 Mariano Sambucetti
3 Pedro Ledesma
2 Agustín Creevy (capitán)
1 Juan Figallo
16 Mauricio Guidone
17 Juan Gómez
18 Tomás Roan
19 Agustín Guzmán
20 Francisco Cubelli
21 Horacio San Martín
22 Belisario Agulla
Coaches: José Orengo, Raúl Pérez

Adapted from

United States v Georgia in Denver (Playoff for 5th-6th)

Neither team has played well at this tournament and deserve this placing. It will make for an interesting first-ever encounter between these two nations. With their normal line-up Georgia would win but with some sixteen front-line players not here in Denver I'd expect a more even contest

Prediction: USA by 7


United States
15 Chris Wyles (Saracens, England)
14 Takudzwa Ngwenya (Biarritz, France)
13 Paul Emerick (Overmach Parma, Italy)
12 Salesi Sika (Agen, France)
11 Colin Hawley (Univ. of California)
10 Mike Hercus (Sunshine Coast, Australia)
9 Tim Usasz (Nottingham, England)
8 Nic Johnson (Denver Barbarians)
7 Todd Clever, Capt. (Xerox Lions)
6 J.J. Gagiano (Univ. of Cape Town, Sth Africa)
5 John van der Giessen (Denver Barbarians)
4 Louis Stanfill (New York Athletic Club)
3 Shawn Pittman (Bayside)
2 Chris Biller (Univ. of California)
1 Matekitonga Moeakiola (Park City Haggis)
16 Joe Welch (Belmont Shore)
17 Mike MacDonald (Leeds Carnegie, England)
18 Hayden Smith (Saracens, England)
19 TBA
20 Mike Petri (New York Athletic Club)
21 Malenese Malifa (Belmont Shore)
22 Alipate Tuilevuka (Provo Steelers)
Head Coach: Eddie O’Sullivan

Adapted from

Georgia Squad
Dimitri Bassilaia (Morlass, France) Aged 24, 11 Tests
Jaba Bregvadze () 23, 1 (07-08)
David Dadunashvili (Massy, France) 26, 21
Levan Datunashvili (Aurillac, France) 26, 27
George Elizbarashvili () 25, 16 (07-08)
David Gasviani () 28, 11
Lexo Gugava () 26, 10 (06-07)
Rezo Guigauri () 25, 21 (07-08)
Irakli Gundishvili , New Cap
George Jhghenti () 25, 7 (06-07)
Vassil Kakovini (University) ?, 1 (07-08)
David Katcharava (Enisey STM-Krasnoyarsk) 24, 26
Lasha Khmaladze () 22, 2
Merab Kvirikashvili (Massy, France) 26, 33
Guia Labadze [Capt] 36, 52
Simon Maissuradze (ASM Clermont-Auvergne, France) 22, 8
Zviad Maissuradze () 28, 23 (07-08)
Lasha Malaghuradze (Beziers, France) 23, 15
Irakli Machkhaneli (Agen, France) 28, 32
Irakli Natriashvili (Farul Constanta, Romania) 25, 17
George Nemsadze () 25, 8 (07-08)
Zero Petriashvili , New Cap
George Rokhvadze () 21, 20 (07-08)
Temur Sokhadze () 24, 8- (06-07)
Sandro Todua (Lelos) 22, 10
Kakhaber Uchava (Farul Constanta, Romania) 32, 14
Rati Urushadze [Vice Capt] (Enisey STM-Krasnoyarsk) 34, 36
Charles-Edouard Yachvili *
Head Coach: Tim Lane

Note: Stats as at beginning of tournament
* New cap
Years in () indicates when last played for Georgia
Not all stats complete

No comments:

Post a Comment