Saturday, November 26, 2011

INTERNATIONAL RUGBY MATCH: Barbarians Face Wallabies

Australia v Barbarians (UK) RFC at Twickenham (Non test)

Referee: Romain Poite (France)

Australia is the only international rugby team present at the 2011 Rugby World Cup to venture north this northern autumn.

The Australians will play a test match against Wales next weekend but first they face the Barbarians at Twickenham.

Whenever I think of Barbarians rugby I always, probably along with 99% of you, think of the famous game in 1973 against New Zealand and THAT try by Gareth Edwards. But I also spare a thought for an even more emotional game against New Zealand in 1964 and Wilson Whineray’s equally famous try.

Apparently the game will be played for the Killik Cup. Silly me. I have always associated Barbarian matches as friendly affairs. So with a bit of research I came up with this bit of information.

‘Sophie Morris, Director of Marketing at Killik & Co, commented: “Killik & Co has been Associate Match Sponsor of Barbarian games held at Twickenham since they played New Zealand in December 2009. It is a relationship that we are very pleased with and are delighted to extend our association with the prestigious club through title sponsorship of this game.” ‘

Former New Zealand coach, and guider of that team to the 2011 Rugby World Cup, Graham Henry has the honour of coaching the Barbarians side. This fittingly means he will lock horns with his Kiwi rival and now head coach of Australia Robbie Deans

The Barbarian selection throws up some interesting characters. Mortlock, Matfield, Shaw, Stringer, Marconnet and White could well be bidding farewell to the international rugby scene whilst Tomkins has apparently been ‘borrowed’ from the rugby league code for this match.

The Australians have a sprinkling of players on the fringe of test rugby and possibly resting players ahead of the big clash against Wales next weekend.

Prediction: Hmmm. Australia to be more cohesive and win by 7 points.



15 Isaia Toeava, 14 Samuel Tomkins, 13 Robert Fruean, 12 Stirling Mortlock, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Daniel Cipriani, 9 Peter Stringer, 8 Adam Thomson,
7 Mauro Bergamasco, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Victor Matfield, Capt. 4 Simon Shaw, 3 Sylvain Marconnet, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Eusebio Guinazu.
16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Salvatore Perugini, 18 Jason White, 19 Marco Bortolami, 20 Nemia Kenatale, 21 Richard Kahui, 22 Seru Rabeni.
Coach: Graham Henry


15 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14 Lachlan Turner, 13 Robert Horne, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 James O'Connor, 9 William Genia, 8 Benjamin McCalman, 7 David Pocock,Capt. 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Nathan Sharpe,
4 Robert Simmons, 3 Salesi Ma'afu, 2 Tatafu Polota Nau, 1 James Slipper.
16 Stephen Moore, 17 Benjamin Alexander, 18 James Horwill, 19 Dave Dennis, 20 Matthew Hodgson, 21 Nicholas Phipps, 22 Benjamin Tapuai.
Coach: Robbie Deans

No comments:

Post a Comment