Saturday, July 30, 2011

TRI NATIONS TEST RUGBY: South Africa v New Zealand

South Africa v New Zealand in Wellington (Tri Nations)

Venue: Westpac Stadium

Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland)

South Africa plays the second leg of their away games in this year’s shortened Tri Nations competition. Having lost the test 20-39 against Australia last weekend, the Springbox limp into Wellington with 20 add top-flight players left at home.

New Zealand is fresh from a 60-14 win over Fiji which was, as expected, a rusty first up performance. The Kiwis will be defending their hold on the Trophy which is a symbol of rugby supremacy between New Zealand, South Africa and Australia.

New Zealand has rested a few key players for this test match.

Last Five Encounters
21.08.2010 New Zealand 29-22 in Johannesburg (Tri Nations)
17.07.2010 New Zealand 31-17 in Wellington (Tri Nations)
10.07.2010 New Zealand 21-12 in Auckland (Tri Nations)
12.09.2009 South Africa 32-29 in Hamilton (Tri Nations)
01.08.2009 South Africa 31-19 in Durban (Tri Nations)

South Africa last won against New Zealand in Wellington back in 1998, South Africa winning 13-3.

GWC Rugby Rankings
World Table-South Africa 2nd, New Zealand 6th

IRB Ranking Points
New Zealand 93.19, South Africa 85.24

Prediction: New Zealand by 12 points



New Zealand
15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 James Cowan, 8 Adam Thomson, 7 Richie McCaw, Capt. 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Alistair Williams, 4 Samuel Whitelock, 3 Benjamin Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
16 Corey Flynn, 17 John Afoa, 18 Jarrad Hoeata, 19 Liam Messam, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Colin Slade, 22 Sonny Bill Williams.
Head Caoch: Graham Henry


South Africa
15 Morne Steyn, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Daniel Rossouw, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Gerhard Mostert, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit, Capt. 1 Dean Greyling.
16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Ryan Kankowski, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Charles McLeod, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 Odwa Ndungane.
Head Caoch: Pieter de Villiers

No comments:

Post a Comment