Saturday, February 21, 2015

BELGIUM v NETHERLANDS. Rugby Europe Championship, Division 1B


Venue: Amsterdam

Referee: Leo Colgan (Ireland)

Poster thanks to

Traditional and long standing rivals, Netherlands and Belgium first played each other in 1932 soon after the formation of FIRA. For the next thirty years they were regular and almost exclusive opponents when rugby in Europe began to expand.

At present they meet because Belgium were relegated from Division 1A last season whereas the Netherlands were promoted from Division 2A. So after two seasons from competitive international rugby these two teams meet again at the same level of competition.

Belgium has already established itself as one of the favourites with a convincing win over Ukraine in November. They will not be at full strength as three top players, Julien Berger, Guillaume Piron, Dirk Haghedooren and Mathieu Verschelden, have not been released by their French clubs.

The Netherlands has named a changed lineup from that which performed well against Poland in October. That performance was very encouraging. Being host the Netherlands will be eager to defeat their traditional rival.

MOLDOVA 3 3 0 0 134 48 86 3 15
POLAND 3 2 0 1 63 73 -10 1 9
UKRAINE 3 1 0 2 70 54 16 1 5
BELGIUM 1 1 0 0 25 10 15 0 4
NETHERLANDS 1 0 0 1 8 9 -1 1 1
SWEDEN 3 0 0 3 25 131 -106 0 0

Last Five Encounters
25.02.2012 Belgium 58-0 in Brussels (ENC 1B)
23.04.2011 Belgium 30-18 in Amsterdam (ENC 1B)
03.04.2008 Belgium 51-3 in Brussels (ENC 2A)
05.05.2007 Belgium 27-20 in Amsterdam (ENC 2A)
19.10.2005 Netherlands 20-8 in Amsterdam (Friendly)

Belgium Last Five P 5, W 1, L 4
15.11.2014 v Ukraine W 25-10 in Irpin (REC 1B)
15.03.2014 v Russia L 20-34 in Brussels (WCQ Europe R5; ENC 1A)
08.03.2014 v Romania L 10-29 in Iasi (WCQ Europe R5; ENC 1A)
22.02.2014 v Portugal L 6-19 in Brussels (WCQ Europe R5; ENC 1A)
08.02.2014 v Spain L 6-11 in Madrid (WCQ Europe R5; ENC 1A)

Netherlands Last Five P 5, W 2, D 1, L 2
18.10.2014 v Poland L 8-9 in Warsaw (REC 1B)
10.05.2014 v Germany L 7-17 in Amsterdam (WCQ Europe R4, Playoff)
12.04.2014 v Croatia W 45-13 in Amsterdam (ENC 2A)
05.04.2014 v Malta W 33-10 in Valette (ENC 2A)
16.11.2013 v Switzerland D 20-20 in Nyon (ENC 2A)

GWC Rugby Rankings
Europe Table-Belgium 12th, Netherlands 19th

Rugby World Ranking Points
Belgium 54.50, Netherlands 52.25

Prediction: Belgium by 7 points




15   Leon Koenen LRC DIOK
14   Pascal van Overeem RC Hilversum
13   Robert van der Velden RC Castricum
12   Rik Roovers RC Hilversum
11   Pieter Mol Haagsche RC 
10   Storm Carroll  RC Hilversum
9   Rik van Balkom RC The Dukes
8   Krijn Twigt ASM Clermont Auvergne, France
7   Johannes van Vliet Haagsche RC 
6   Dirk Danen RC Hilversum
5   Stefan Vos RC The Dukes
4   Vincent Grimbergen LRC DIOK
3   Andrew Darlington RC't Gooi
2   Anthony Illston  Haagsche RC 
1   Hugo Langelaan RC't Gooi
16   Mark Darlington RC't Gooi
17   Thomas Isaak  RC Hilversum
18   Jamel Khoudja RC Amstelveen
19   Bart-Jan Romijn Haagsche RC
20   James Boelrijk Stade Montois Rugby, France
21   Amir Rademaker Haagsche RC 
22   Alexander Povel Barking RFC. England
23   Jonathan Nas RC The Dukes
    HEAD COACH: Alex Chang


Belgium Squad
Bertrand Billi (Soignies)
Thomas Boden (Boitsfort)
Quentin Boucar (ASUB)
Guillaume Brébant (Frameries)
Ryan Brion (Pau, France)
Cian Cauwenberghs (Mechelen)
Tom Cocqu (US Bressane, France)
Alexis Cuffolo (Dijon, France)
Michael De Molder (Boitsfort)
Thomas De Molder (Pau, France)
Sep Debacker (Dendermonde)
Florent Debatty (Soignies)
Christophe Debaty (RFC Liégeois)
Thomas Dienst (Lille, France)
Max Dubois (Soignies)
Brieuc Frateur (La Hulpe)
Sébastien Guns (ROC Ottignies)
Romain Heyndrickx (Soignies)
Thibault Jaupart (Frameries)
Loïc Lechien (ASUB)
Corentin Lecloux (Boitsfort)
Baptiste Lescarboura (Kituro)
Julien Massimi (Arras)
Nicolas Meeus (Kituro)
Alain Miriallakis (Kansas City Blues, USA)
Radman Nikrouye Aslan (ASUB)
Romain Pinte (Kituro)
Florian Piron (RFC Liégeois)
Nicolas Raykov (Arras)
Charles Reynaert (Kituro)
Frédéric Rongé (Kituro)
Hugo Sensée (Kituro)
Maxime Temmerman (ASUB)
Kjell Van Den Broeke (Dendermonde)
Pablo Fransisco Vilar (La Hulpe)
Savenaca Vocea (Dendermonde)
Kevin Williams (ASUB)

‘Julien Berger, Guillaume Piron, Dirk Haghedooren et Mathieu Verschelden n’ont par contre notamment pas été libérés par leur club respectif.’

No comments:

Post a Comment