Saturday, June 2, 2012

TEST RUGBY: Wales Take on Barbarians

Barbarians (UK)RFC v Wales in Cardiff

Venue: Millennium Stadium

Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland)

Wales has paid a high honour to the Barbarians Rugby Club by awarding its players a test cap for this match. It is a rather strange move as neither England (last Saturday) nor Ireland (Tuesday) awarded test caps for their games against the famous club. What is more, this Welsh side bares little resemblance to that that defeated France in March taking the Six Nations Championship and Grand Slam.

What is perhaps more important is that Wales will say farewell to one of its own and possibly another. Shane Williams will bow out of all rugby with his appearance for the Barbarians. It could also be Martyn William’s final test for Wales if he comes off the bench. It would be his 100th test for Wales if he does.

As far as the actual games goes it is expected to be a typical Barbarians match with free flowing back moves and open play. Well, hopefully.

A number of the Barbarians team has been drafted in due to injuries so combinations will be awkward and sluggish at best so I’m expecting Wales to win comfortably.

Prediction: Wales by 25 points




15   Liam Williams Llanelly Scarlets
14   Harold Robinson Cardiff Blues
13   Andrew Bishop Neath Swansea Ospreys
12   James Hook  Perpignan, France
11   Aled Brew Newport Gwent Dragons
10   Daniel Biggar Neath Swansea Ospreys
9   Lloyd Williams  Cardiff Blues
8   Ryan Jones  Neath Swansea Ospreys
7   Justin Tipuric Neath Swansea Ospreys
6   Joshua Turnbull Llanelly Scarlets
5   Ian Evans Neath Swansea Ospreys
4   Alyn-Wyn Jones  Neath Swansea Ospreys
3   Rodri Jones  Llanelly Scarlets
2   Matthew Rees (Capt.) Llanelly Scarlets
1   Rhys Gill Saracens, England
16   Richard Hibbard Neath Swansea Ospreys
17   Paul James  Neath Swansea Ospreys
18   Aaron Shingler Llanelly Scarlets
19   Martyn Williams Cardiff Blues
20   Rhys Webb Neath Swansea Ospreys
21   Adam Warren Llanelly Scarlets
22   William Harries Newport Gwent Dragons
    COACH: Warren Gatland



15   Mils Muliaina  Biarritz, New Zealand
14   Isa Nacewa  Lienster, Fiji
13   Michael Tindall Gloucester, England
12   Casey Laulala Cardiff Blues, New Zealand
11   Shane Williams Neath Swansea Ospreys, Wales
10   Stephan Donald Bath, New Zealand
9   Richard Rees Cardiff Blues, Wales
8   Mamuka Gorgodze Montpellier, Georgia
7   John Beattie Glasgow Warriors, Scotland
6   Francois Louw Bath, South Africa
5   Mark Chisholm Aviron Bayonnais, Australia 
4   Michael O'Driscoll Munster, Ireland
3   John Smit (Capt.) Saracens, South Africa
2   Benoit August  Biarritz, France
1   Duncan Jones Neath Swansea Ospreys, Wales
16   Aled de Malmanche  Stade Francais, New Zealand
17   Neemia Tialata  Aviron Bayonnais, New Zealand
18   Anton van Zyl  Stade Francais
19   Akupusi Qera  Gloucester, Fiji
20   Rory Lawson  Gloucester, Scotland
21   Sailosi Tagicakibau  London Irish, Samoa
22   Cedric Heymans  Aviron Bayonnais, France
    HEAD COACH: John Kirwan

No comments:

Post a Comment