Saturday, November 10, 2012



Venue: Aviva Stadium, Dublin

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)

Ireland are in serious trouble with key players injured-Brian O'Driscoll, Paul O'Connell, Rob Kearney, Sean O'Brien, Rory Best and Stephen Ferris are all out. Simon Zebo starts at full-back replacing Kearney, Keith Earls replaces O'Driscoll, Chris Henry and Peter O'Mahony come in for Sean O'Brien and Stephen Ferris while Mike McCarthy and Richardt Strauss replace O'Connell and Best. It certainly will be a test of the depth of Irish rugby.

In contrast the South African side looks a settle one with only a few changes from the side that played New Zealand in Soweto last month. ‘The 22-year-old Pat Lambie’s starts at flyhalf in place of the injured Johan Goosen while JP Pietersen returns at right wing and Juandré Kruger takes over at lock. The latter pair replace Bryan Habana and Andries Bekker respectively, who were both ruled out of the tour because of injury.’

Richardt and Adriaan Strauss are cousins.

More previews

GWC Rugby Rankings
World Table: South Africa 4th, Ireland 9th

IRB Ranking Points
South Africa 84.69, Ireland 79.85

Prediction: South Africa by 24 points



15 Simon Zebo, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Keith Earls, 12 Gordon D'Arcy,
11 Andrew Trimble, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 James Heaslip, Capt, 7 Christopher Henry, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 Michael McCarthy,
4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Michael Ross, 2 Richardt Strauss*, 1 Cian Healy.
16 Sean Cronin, 17 David Kilcoyne*, 18 Michael Bent*, 19 Donncha O'Callaghan, 20 Iain Henderson*, 21 Eoin Reddan, 22 Ronan O'Gara, 23 Fergus McFadden.
Head Coach: Declan Kidney

* New cap
Tommy Bowe will play his 50th test for Ireland.
Veteran 35 year old Ronan O'Gara will play his 125th test for Ireland if he comes off the bench.


South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, Capt. 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar,
8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger,
4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Patrick Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.
Head Coach; Heyneke Meyer

Brits last played for South Africa in 2008.

No comments:

Post a Comment