Saturday, November 10, 2012

NAMIBIA v ZIMBABWE: IRB Tri-Nations Series

This IRB sponsored tournament is being held in Namibia. Teams involved are the hosts along with Zimbabwe and Spain.


Venue: Hage Geingob Rugby Stadium, Windhoek

Referee: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

Namibia will field an inexperienced side.

“Namibia is especially inexperienced among the forwards with only Van Lill, prop Johnny Redelinghuys and flanker Renaud van Neel remaining from the World Cup.

Top forwards like Jacques Burger, Rohan Kitshoff and Morné Blom were not available due to injury or club commitments, while Namibia suffered a further setback when experienced lock Nico Esterhuizen got injured during training.

With World Cup lock Heinz Koll having retired, Namibia will be especially inexperienced in this position and Muno Kasiringua of Unam and Stefan Neustadt of United will both be making their debut for Namibia on Saturday.’

Namibia will field a total of nine new caps in their squad of 22.

Zimbabwe nearly didn’t make it!

‘…the Zimbabwean Sables arrived in Namibia yesterday after their participation had earlier been in doubt. According to reports from Zimbabwe, the players went on strike last week over allowances, while the Zimbabwe Rugby Union has also been struggling with a lack of funds. The International Rugby Board however came to the rescue this week when it announced that it would pay for the travel and accommodation of the Zimbabwean team’

Same source as above.

This could end up being a evenly fought tussle.

GWC Rugby Rankings
Africa Table: Zimbabwe 4th, Namibia 7th

IRB Ranking Points
Namibia 59.24, Zimbabwe 52.40

Prediction: Namibia by 4 points




1        Johnny Redelinghuys (Wanderers)

2        Rathony Bekker *(Western Suburbs)

3        Andre Schlechter* (Eastern Province Kings, South Africa)

4        Muinjo Kasaringwa*(Uni Namibia)

5        Stefan Neustadt* (United)

6        Renaud van Neel (Uni.Namibia)

7        Munee Tjuiza* (Western Suburbs)

8        PJ Van Lill, Capt. (Wanderers)

9        Eugene Jantjies (Western Suburbs)

10    Theuns Kotze (South-West Districts, South Africa)

11    Chrysander Botha (Johannesburg Univ.RFC, South Africa)

12    Darryl de la Harpe (vice captain)

13    Danie van Wyk

14    Johan Tromp* (Pumas, South Africa)

15    Justin Nel (Western Suburbs)


16    Collen Smith (United)

17    Hannes Dursewei*

18    Stef Botha* (Western Province U21, South Africa)

19    Victor Rodrigues* (Western Suburbs)

20    Arthur Bouwer (United)

21    Sergio de la Harpe (Western Suburbs)

22    Desmond Snyders

*New caps


Adapted from (with most club affiliations from my records)



1.Tapiwa Mangezi

 2.Royal Mwale

 3.Pieter Joubert

 4.Costa Dinha

 5.Jan Ferreira

 6.Biselele Tshamala

 7.Lucky Sithole

 8.Takunda Chifokoyo

 9. Scotty Jones

 10.Tichafara Makwanya

 11.Garnder Nechironga

 12.Daniel Hondo

 13.Danny Robertson

 14.Wes Mbanje

 15. Tangai Nemadire

 16. Tino Chikobvu

 17. Vakai Hove

 18. Fortune Chipendo

 19. Samson Makuka

 20. Linience Tambwera

 21. Shayne Makombe

 22. Philmon Machisa



Adapted from

No comments:

Post a Comment