Sunday, June 5, 2011

TEST RUGBY: Namibian Squad at IRB Nations Cup


Head Coach Johan Diergaardt was critical of the standard of local club rugby when the squad for Romania was announced.“I must say that the standard of club rugby in Namibia is not up to standard, while the local players are also not fit enough. It will be nearly an impossible task to defend our trophy at the IRB Nations Cup. The standard of our rugby is just not at the right level at this stage,” he said.

Not encouraging words. Some players were unavailable including usual captain Jacques Burger who will undergo surgery and South African-based prop Visser injured

Johnny Redelinghuys (Wanderers RFC)
Jane du Toit (Hamiltons RFC, South Africa)
Casper Viviers (Agen, France)
Bertus O Callaghan (Wanderers RFC)
Shaun Esterhuizen (United RFC)
Heinz Koll (Wanderers RFC)
Morne Blom (United RFC)
Nico Esterhuizen (unattached)
Tinus du Plessis (Wanderers RFC)
PJ van Lill (Wanderers RFC)
Ruan Kitshoff (Western Province, South Africa)
Jacques Nieuwenhuis (Aurillac, France)
Renaud van Neel (Uni.Namibia RFC).

Ryan de la Harpe (Moseley, England)
Eugene Jantjies (Farul Constanta, Romania)
Jacky Bock (Reho Falcon RFC)
TC Losper (Western Suburbs RFC)
Darryl de la Harpe (Western Suburbs RFC)
Piet van Zyl (Bourgoin, France)
David Philander (United RFC)
Conrad Marais (Montpellier, France)
Wallace Winckler (Western Suburbs RFC)
McGrath van Wyk (Farul Constanta, Romania)
Chrysander Botha (Kudus RFC)
Heinie Bock (Reho Falcon RFC)

Head Coach: Johan Diergaardt

No comments:

Post a Comment