Tuesday, July 3, 2012

TEST RUGBY: CAR Africa Cup Division 1B

Namibia v Senegal in Antananarivo (CAR Africa Cup 1B, Semi-Final 2)

Namibia finds itself in Division 1B due to their non-participation in the 2011 Africa Cup. Financial and administration problems following the Rugby World Cup are said to have been the cause with the IRB refusing to bail them out.

The Namibians will be a force to contend with. They and Morocco are the favourites and I expect both to be in the final.

Senegal must not be underestimated. They have a huge contingent of France-based players and will give Namibia a tough contest.They could catch the Namibians off balance on the first day.

Previous Encounter
14.06.2008 Namibia 13-10 in Dakar (WCQ Africa R1, Pool A)

GWC Rugby Rankings
Namibia does not register on the Africa table as they failed to take part in the 2011 Africa Cup.

IRB Ranking Points
Namibia 61.24, Senegal 45.24

Prediction: Namibia by 8 points



Senegal squad
Prop : Yogane Corréa, Capt. (Albi Pro D2), Antoine Laporte (Lavaur F1), Ousmane Ndiaye, Jérémy Fickou (La Seyne F1), Assane Dièye (Requins SEN)
Hooker : Sékou Sakho (Epernay F2), Ciré Sam (Bellegarde F2)
Lock : Mouhamed Samba (Limoges F1), Magnamé Koïta (Limoges F1), Moktar Sougoufara (Bastia F3)
Back row : Oumar Sy (Figeac F2), Charles Preira Ndiaye (Saint Jean d'Angely F2), Aboubakry Signaté (Drancy F2)
Scrum-half : Demba Kane (Bobigny F1), Moussa Magassa (Red Star Honneur)
Fly-half : Steeve Sargos (Vannes F1), Aldric Folliot (Castanet F1), Maxime Boyer (Lannemezan F1), Grégory Déjardin (Monteux F2)
Centre : Victor Biram Samb (Souston Honneur)
Wing : Mouhamadou Diarra (Montauban F1), Moussa Koïta-Gros (Montmélian F2)
Arrière : Ndiogou Sané (Requins SEN), Maxime Perrais (Stade Phoceén F1)

Head Coach : Jean-Marc Foucras

’Most of the players are young and were in Top 14/Pro D2 acadamies.’
Thanks to ‘Olivier’ at http://www.fira-aer-rugby.com/forum2007/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3660&start=360


Namibia Squad
Johnny Redelinghuys, Callie Swanepoel, Collen Smith, Henk Franken, Heinz Koll, Tinus du Plessis (captain), Morné Blom, PJ van Lill, Eugene Jantjies (vice captain), Theuns Kotzé, Chrysander Botha, Rodger Thompson, Anthony Jevu, Danie Dames, Justin Nel, Martin Goeieman, Shaun du Preez, Herald Kasera, Petrus Human, Arthur Bouwer, Lean Stoop, Godwin Walters, Herman Ströh and Shaun Esterhuizen.

No comments:

Post a Comment