Saturday, March 24, 2012

2015 RUGBY WORLD CUP. The First Game!

Jamaica v Mexico in Mexico City (WCQ Americas, NACRA R1)

Venue: Universidad Iberoamericana

The Web Ellis Trophy. The Rugby World Cup.

Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)


NACRA stands for ‘North American and Caribbean Rugby Association’. Essentially it represents the Anglophile part of the Americas. Mexico would seem to be a strange inclusion when you think Coast Rica, just down the road, plays in CONSUR, the mainly Spanish speaking southern areas.

For those of you who don’t follow the smaller rugby nations today is a huge day for Jamaica and especially Mexico. Today’s rugby test match is the first qualifying fixture for the 2015 Rugby World Cup, hosted by England.

Lawrence Dallaglio, the former England player, will also be in Mexico City as the official 2015 Rugby World Cup ambassidor

These two teams have never met before.

2011 NACRA Competition Results

09.04 v USA South W 25-9 in Mexico City
15.05 v Cayman Islands W 34-20 in Mexico City
28.05 v Bahamas L 12-17 in Nassau
05.06 v Bermuda L 7-26 in Mexico City

16.04 v Cayman Islands L 24-36 in Grand Cayman
Jamaica were eliminated at this point.

25.06 v USA South L 5-52 in Kingston

For more information on the structure of the NACRA Americas Zone go to

For other articles

GWC Rugby Rankings
NACRA Table-Mexico 8th, Jamaica 10th

IRB Rankings do not apply. Mexico is not a full member of IRB. It means they cannot actually progress beyond NACRA stage. If they do win this section then the second placed team will progress.

Prediction: Mexico by 26 points



Mexico Squad

Juan Pablo Andrade (Capt.) (Jaguares RFC)

Roberto Calderon (Lobos Guadalajra RC)

Miguel Carner (Black Thunder RFC)

Erick Castillo (Jaguares RFC)
Alejandro Chavez (Tazmania RC)
Luis Hernandez Cruz (Pumas Rugby UNAM)

Max Douek (Tazmania RC)
Christian Henning (Black Thunder RFC)
Geraldo Gil Hernandez (Templarios RFC)

Fernando Herrejon (Black Thunder RFC)

Patrick Jouan (Wallabies RFC)

Juan Manual Matamoros (Templarios RFC)
Pascal Nadaud (Black Thunder RFC)
Samuel Gythu Nyaga (Rhinos RC, Guadalajara)
Pablo Pagano (Wallabies RFC)
Simon Pierre (Tazmania RC)
Pablo Pinedo (Jaguares RFC)

Carlos Prieto (Black Thunder RFC)
Bruno Rodriquez (Black Thunder RFC)

Luis Rosete (Black Thunder RFC)
Carlos Susarrey (Lobos Guadalajara RC)

Gonzalo Taddei (Wallabies RFC)

Head Coach: Simon Pierre

Adapted from


jamaica logo   64[1]
(Not sure which one is their official logo)

Jamaica Squad not available as yet.

No comments:

Post a Comment