Thursday, July 16, 2015

NEW ZEALAND v ARGENTINA: Rugby Championship


Venue: AMI Stadium, Christchurch

Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)

Argentina has chosen to field a below strength against New Zealand in their first major outing this season. In a match they are unlikely to win going on previous history they have rested some key players. They have the Rugby World Cup in a few months in mind. Three players will make their rugby Championship debut; Facundo Isa, Guido Petti and Santiago Cordero.

New Zealand will field a strong line up with a number of veterans being tested well before the final selection of the World Cup squad. Their shaky performance against Samoa is unlikely to be repeated.

Last Five Encounters  NZ 5-0
17.09.2014 New Zealand 34-13 in La Plata (Rugby Championship)
06.09.2014 New Zealand 28-9 in Napier (Rugby Championship)
28.09.2013 New Zealand 33-15 in La Plata (Rugby Championship)
07.09.2013 New Zealand 28-13 in Hamilton (Rugby Championship)
29.09.2012 New Zealand 54-15 in Buenos Aires (Rugby Championship)

New Zealand has never lost to Argentina. The closest Argentina has managed was a 21-21 draw in 1985.

New Zealand Last Five P 5, W 5
08.07.2015 v Samoa W 25-16 in Apia
22.11.2014 v Wales W 34-16 in Cardiff
15.11.2014 v Scotland W 24-16 at Murrayfield
08.11.2014 v England W 24-21 at Twickenham
01.11.2014 v United States W 74-6 in Chicago

Argentina Last Five P 5, W 4, L 1
23.05.2015 v Paraguay W 71-7 in Asuncion (CONSUR Cup)
16.05.2015 v Uruguay W 36-14 in Montevideo (CONSUR Cup)
22.11.2014 v France W 18-13 in Paris
14.11.2014 v Italy W 20-18 in Genoa
08.11.2014 v Scotland L 31-41 at Murrayfield

Argentina also played two non test international matches against a French Barbarians in late  June in Argentina. They lost the first 20-28 and won the second 21-9.

GWC Rugby Rankings
World Table:New Zealand 5th, Argentina 9th

IRB Ranking Points
New Zealand 93.70, Argentina 78.23

Prediction: New Zealand by 25 points. Score-36-11



New Zealand
15 Israel Dagg, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Ma'a Nonu, 12 Sonny Bill Williams,
11 Charles Piutau, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (Capt.), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Jeremy Thrush,
20 Liam Messam, 21 Andrew Ellis, 22 Colin Slade, 23 Ryan Crotty.
Head Coach: Steve Hansen


15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Jeronimo De la Fuente, 11 Santiago Cordero, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Tomas Cubelli,
8 Facundo Isa, 7 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, 6 Juan Manuel Leguizamon,
5 Guido Petti, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustin Creevy (Capt.),
1 Marcos Ayerza.
16 Julian Montoya, 17 Lucas Noguera, 18 Nahuel Chaparro Tetaz, 19 Benjamin Macome, 20 Javier Ortega Desio, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino.
Head Coach: Daniel Hourcade

Team lists thanks to,25883,3551_62778,00.html

No comments:

Post a Comment