Saturday, June 6, 2015


Originally 16 teams were invited to this all-Muslim international rugby tournament organised by the Islamic Solidarity Federation and hosted by Malaysia.


This above was the original poster with dates from 1-14 June. Apparently when the tournament changed to 6 –14 June a number of teams, including Iran and Kazakhstan, pulled out.

The tournament has eventually been reduced to 4 teams; Malaysia, Algeria, Lebanon and Uzbekistan.

Algerian squad. Image thanks to

Just On Sport's photo.

Lebanese Squad thanks to

Lebanese Rugby Union Federation ( LRUF )'s photo.

‘The Lebanese Phoenix training in the sweltering heat in the lead up to their first match against host nation Malaysia tomorrow at 5pm’.

Whilst the draw for day one is yet to be announced I’m assuming that with a 4-team competition that it will be round-robin with two fixtures on each day.

Thus, Today we should see (but not guaranteed)
Malaysia v Lebanon: Malaysia by 8 points-26-18
Algeria v Uzbekistan: Algeria by 34 points-42-18

Algeria Squad

All France based unless otherwise stated.
Sébastien Abdelkader (Millau)
Bilal Abed (Saint-Sulpice)
Nordine Badji (?)
Bekada Belhaouari (Castanet)
Nasser Benamor (Valence d’Agen)
Boris Bouhraoua (Napier, NZ)
Lou Bouhraoua (Montluçon)
Nadir Boukhaloua (Givors)
Walid Bouregba (Toulouse Olympique 13 RL)
Sofiane Chellat (Stade Français)
Mehdi Chouchane (Bedarrides)
Yazid Chouchane (Bedarrides)
Samir Doukbi (La Seyne)
Mahmoud Djenadi (Carqueiranne Hyères RF)
Mourad Frih (Grasse)
Vincent Haouari (Hyères Carqueiranne)
Samir Khamouche (Berre)
Romain Lacoste (Tyrosse)
Djamel Ouchene (Libourne).
Moussa Reghis (Annecy)
Yassine Saaoui (Montluçon)
Said Tamghart (Whitehaven RL, England)
Danyl Youcef (Aix en Provence)

Adapted from

72[1]  index_r1_c1 118[1]

Malaysia, Lebanon and Uzbekistan squads not available

No comments:

Post a Comment