Saturday, August 16, 2014

ARGENTINA v SOUTH AFRICA: Rugby Championship


Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)

South Africa has stumbled and stuttered in their outings up to this game (the game v Scotland excepted). They bring a number of younger players into a very experienced mix. There are young and exciting players in de Allende, Pollard and de Jager.

Argentina has the disadvantage of not have game time together. Only three players remain from the loss to Scotland. They also must contend with travel to Pretoria and the altitude question. They have some exciting individual players but cohesion will be a major problem.

I can’t see South Africa losing this one. It will be about how much damage Argentina can prevent.

Last Five Encounters
24.08.2013 South Africa 22-17 in Mendoza (Rugby Championship)
17.08.2014 South Africa 73-13 in Bloemfontein (Rugby Championship)
25.08.2012 Drawn 16-16 in Mendoza (Rugby Championship)
18.08.2012 South Africa 27-6 in Capetown (Rugby Championship)
09.08.2008 South Africa 63-9 in Johannesburg
South Africa has never lost against Argentina.

Argentina Last Five
21.06.2014 v Scotland L 19-21 in Cordoba
14.06.2014 v Ireland L 17-23 in Tucuman
07.06.2014 v Ireland  L 17-29 in Resistencia
25.05.2014 v Chile W 73-12 in Santiago (CONSUR Cup)
17.05.2014 v Uruguay W 65-9 in Montevideo (CONSUR Cup)

South Africa Last Five
28.06.2014 v Scotland W 55-6 in Port Elizabeth
21.06.2014 v Wales W 31-30 in Nelspruit
14.06.2014 v Wales W 38-16 in Durban
23.11.2013 v France W 19-10 in Paris
17.11.2013 v Scotland W 28-0 at Murrayfield
South Africa’s last loss was 27-38 to New Zealand 5 October 2013. They have won the last six on the trot.

GWC Rugby Rankings
World Table: South Africa 2nd, Argentina 14th

IRB Ranking Points
South Africa 89.34, Argentina 75.12

Prediction: South Africa by 39 points.



South Africa
15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Damian de Allende, 12 Jean de Villiers (Capt.), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar,
8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager,
4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Eben Etzebeth, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Jan Serfontein.
Head Coach:


15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (Capt.), 1 Marcos Ayerza.
16 Matías Cortese, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro,
19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Lucas González Amorosino.
Head Coach: Daniel Hourcade

No comments:

Post a Comment