Saturday, September 8, 2012

RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP: Huge Test for Argentina

Argentina v New Zealand in Wellington (Rugby Championship)

Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Referee: Romain Poite (France)

New Zealand will be expected to win this rugby test match and win comfortably. Even without injured Dan Carter they will be too much for Argentina to contain for eighty minutes.

Argentina will be expected to give the All Blacks a good run for their money, especially at lineout and scrum time. The Argies may also be more competitive in the loose with the inclusion of experienced Juan Manuel Leguizamon. The visitors are expected to have better guidance with Juan Martin Hernandez directing play.

It should be win number thirteen on the trot for the All Blacks.

Last Five Encounters
09.10.2011 New Zealand 33-10 in Auckland (World Cup, Quarter-final)24.06.2006 New Zealand 24-19 in Buenos Aires
26.06.2004 New Zealand 41-7 in Hamilton
01.12.2001 New Zealand 24-20 in Buenos Aires
23.06.2001 New Zealand 67-19 in Christchurch

Argentina has Never defeated New Zealand. The closest they came was a 21-21 draw back in 1985 in Buenos Aires.

New Zealand Last Five P 5, W 5
25.08.2012 v Australia W 22-0 in Auckland (Bledisloe Cup; Rugby Champ.)18.08.2012 v Australia W 27-19 in Sydney (Bledisoe Cup; Rugby Champ.)23.06.2012 v Ireland W 60-0 in Hamilton
16.06.2012 v Ireland W 22-19 in Christchurch
09.06.2012 v Ireland W 42-10 in Auckland

New Zealand has won it’s last 12 rugby test matches.

Argentina Last Five P 5, W 2, D1, L 2
25.08.2012 v South Africa D 16-16 in Mendoza (Rugby Champ.)
18.08.2012 v South Africa L 6-27 in Capetown (Rugby Champ.)
23.06.2012 v France L 10-49 in Tucuman
16.06.2012 v France W 23-20 in Cordoba
09.06.2012 v Italy W 37-22 in San Juan

GWC Rugby Rankings
World Table-New Zealand 1st, Argentina 5th

IRB Ranking Points
New Zealand 92.43, Argentina 79.34

Prediction: New Zealand by 21 points




15   Martín Rodríguez Gurruchage Stade Français, France
14   Gonzalo Camacho  Exeter Chiefs, England
13   Marcelo Bosch  Biarritz, France
12   Santiago Fernández  Montpellier, France
11   Horacio Agulla  Bath Rugby, England
10   Juan Martin Hernandez Racing Metro, France
9   Nicolás Vergallo  Stade Français, France
8   Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe (Capt.) Toulon, France
7   Juan Manuel Leguizamon Lyon OU, France
6   Julio Farías Cabello  Tucuman Rugby
5   Patricio Albacete  Toulouse, France
4   Manuel Carizza  Biarritz, France
3   Juan Figallo  Montpellier, France
2   Eusebio Guinazu  Biarritz, France
1   Rodrigo Roncero  Stade Français, France
16   Augustin Creevy  
17   Marcos Ayerza  Leicester Tigers, England
18   Juan Pablo Orlandi Racing Metro, France
19   Leonardo Senatore  Los Pampas XV
20   Thomas Leonardi  Los Pampas XV
21   Martin Landajo Club Atletico San Isidro
22   Lucas González Amorosino  Montpellier, France
    HEAD COACH: Santiago Phelan


New Zealand

15   Israel Dagg  Hawkes Bay
14   Corey Jane Wellington
13   Conrad Smith Wellington
12   Ma'a Nonu  Auckland
11   Julian Savea Wellington
10   Aaron Cruden Manawatu
9   Aaron Smith  Manawatu
8   Kieran Read Canterbury
7   Richard McCaw (Capt.) Canterbury
6   Victor Vito  Wellington
5   Brodie Retallick  Bay of Plenty
4   Luke Romano  Canterbury
3   Owen Franks Canterbury
2   Keven Mealamu  Auckland
1   Tony Woodcock North Harbour
16   Andrew Hore  Taranaki
17   Charles Faumuina * Auckland
18   Samuel Whitelock  Canterbury
19   Victor Vito  Wellington
20   Piri Weepu  Auckland
21   Bauden Barrett Taranaki
22   Benjamin Smith  Otago
    HEAD COACH: Steven Hansen

* Test debut

No comments:

Post a Comment