Saturday, September 7, 2013

SOUTH AFRICA v AUSTRALIA: Rugby Championship, Mandela Cup


Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)

Neither Australia nor South Africa would have been impressed with their last outings. Both teams will need to lift their game if they are to catch hot favourites New Zealand in this competition.

South Africa managed to squeak past Argentina away in Mendoza two weeks ago. After crushing Argentina at home 73-13 that close game was a wake up call. They remain undefeated so far but they have Australia and then New Zealand to overcome.

Australia’s performance against New Zealand in Wellington two weeks ago was an improvement on their first match drubbing but they will also need to lift their game. Their plans have met a wall with the withdrawl of captain James Horwill with injury. Wil Genia will captain Australia tonight in his place.

Last Five Encounters
29.09.2012 South Africa 31-8 in Pretoria (Mandela Cup, Rugby Champ.)08.09.2012 Australia 26-19 in Perth (Rugby Championship)
09.10.2011 Australia 11-9 in Wellington (World Cup, Quarter-final)
13.08.2011 Australia 14-9 in Durban (Mandela Cup; Tri Nations)
23.07.2011 Australia 39-20 in Sydney (Mandela Cup; Tri Nations)

Australia Last Five P 5, W 1, L 4
24.08.2013 v New Zealand L 16-27 in Wellington (Rugby Champ.Bledisloe Cup)
17.08.2013 v New Zealand L 29-47 in Sydney (Rugby Champ. Bledisloe Cup)06.07.2013 v British and Irish Lions L 16-41 in Sydney
29.06.2013 v British and Irish Lions W 16-15 in Melbourne
22.06.2013 v British and Irish Lions L 21-23 in Brisbane

South Africa Last Five P 5, W 5
24.08.2013 v Argentina W 22-17 in Mendoza (Rugby Championship)
17.08.2013 v Argentina W 73-13 in Bloemfontein (Rugby Championship)22.06.2013 v Samoa W 56-23 in Pretoria (Quadrangular Tournament)
15.06.2013 v Scotland W 30-17 in Nelspruit (Quadrangular Tournament)
08.06.2013 v Italy W 44-10 in Durban (Quadrangular Tournament)

GWC Rugby Rankings
World Table: South Africa 6th, Australia 11th

IRB Ranking Points
South Africa 87.29, New Zealand 85.32

Prediction: South Africa by 11 points


South Africa

15   Zane Kirchner Leinster, Ireland
14   Willie le Roux  Griqualand West
13   JJ Engelbrecht  Blue Bulls
12   Jean de Villiers (capt.)  Western Province 
11   Bryan Habana  RC Toulonnais, France
10   Morne Steyn  Blue Bulls
9   Ruan Pienaar  Ulster, Ireland
8   Duane Vermeulen  Western Province 
7   Willem Alberts  Natal Sharks
6   Francoise Louw  Bath, England
5   Flip van der Merwe  Blue Bulls
4   Eben Etzebeth  Western Province 
3   Jannie du Plessis  Natal Sharks
2   Bismarck du Plessis  Natal Sharks
1   Tendai Mtawarira  Natal Sharks
16   Adriaan Strauss  Free State Cheetahs
17   Gurthrö Steenkamp  Stade Toulousain, France
18   Coenie Oosthuizen  Free State Cheetahs
19   Juandré Kruger  Racing Metro 92, France
20   Siya Kolisi  Western Province
21   Jano Vermaak Blue Bulls
22   Patrick Lambie  Natal Sharks
23   Jan Serfontein  Blue Bulls
    HEAD COACH: Heyneke Meyer



15   Israel Folau  NSW Waratahs
14   James O’Connor  Melbourne Rebels
13   Adam Ashley-Cooper  NSW Waratahs
12   Christian Leali’ifano  ACT Brumbies
11   Nicholas Cummings WA Western Force
10   Quade Cooper  Queensland Reds
9   William Genia  Queensland Reds
8   Benjamin Mowen ACT Brumbies
7   Michael Hooper  NSW Waratahs
6   Scott Fardy  ACT Brumbies
5   Kane Douglas NSW Waratahs
4   Robert Simmons Queensland Reds
3   Sekope Kepu  NSW Waratahs
2   Stephan Moore  ACT Brumbies
1   James Slipper  Queensland Reds
16   Saia Fainga’a  Queensland Reds
17   Scott Sio  ACT Brumbies
18   Benjamin Alexander  ACT Brumbies
19   Benjamin McCalman WA Western Force
20   Liam Gill  Queensland Reds
21   Nicholas White  ACT Brumbies
22   Matthew Toomua  ACT Brumbies
23   Jesse Mogg  ACT Brumbies
    HEAD COACH: Ewan McKenzie

Copyright: This article is protected by copyright. No copying of any part of this content is permitted without permission of the owner.

No comments:

Post a Comment