Saturday, August 17, 2013

NEW ZEALAND v AUSTRALIA: Bledisloe Cup, Rugby Championship


Venue: ANZ Stadium, Sydney

Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)

The big Southern Hemisphere Rugby Championship kicks off with test matches in Australia and South Africa. Old Tasman rivals New Zealand and Australia clash in a match which also sees the iconic Bledisloe Cup on the line.

Australia enters this test match with a new coach and a number of new players. Since taking over from Robbie Deans Ewen Mckenzie has ringed the changes, introducing seven new players to the day’s 22 and recalling controversial player Quade Cooper into the fold.

New Zealand has recalled Richie McCaw after a 6 month sabbatical and reinstated him as captain. They will be missing Daniel Carter and Liam Massom both out with injury.

Last Five Encounters
20.10.2012 Drawn 18-18 in Brisbane (Bledisloe Cup)
25.08.2012 New Zealand 22-0 in Auckland (Bledisloe Cup, Rugby Champ.)
18.08.2012 New Zealand 27-19 in Sydney (Bledisloe Cup, Rugby Champ.)
16.10.2011 New Zealand 20-6 in Auckland (World Cup, Semi-final)
27.08.2011 Australia 25-20 in Brisbane (Bledisloe Cup, Tri-Nations)

New Zealand Last Five
22.06.2013 v France W 24-9 in New Plymouth
15.06.2013 v France W 30-0 in Christchurch
08.06.2013 v France W 23-13 in Auckland
01.12.2012 v England L 21-38 at Twickenham
24.11.2012 v Wales W 33-10 in Cardiff

Australia Last Five
06.07.2013 v British and Irish Lions L 16-41 in Sydney
29.06.2013 v British and Irish Lions W 16-15 in Melbourne
22.06.2013 v British and Irish Lions L 21-23 in Brisbane
01.12.2012 v Wales W 14-12 in Cardiff
24.11.2012 v Italy W 22-19 in Florence

GWC Rugby Rankings
World Table: New Zealand 4th, Australia 11th
Oceania Table: New Zealand 1st, Australia 2nd

IRB Ranking Points
New Zealand 90.08, Australia 86.87

Prediction: New Zealand by 12 points.

If New Zealand win it will be their 100th test rugby win over Australia.




15   Jesse Mogg  ACT Brumbies
14   Israel Folau  NSW Waratahs
13   Adam Ashley-Cooper  NSW Waratahs
12   Christian Leali’ifano  ACT Brumbies
11   James O’Connor  Melbourne Rebels
10   Matthew Toomua * ACT Brumbies
9   William Genia  Queensland Reds
8   Benjamin Mowen ACT Brumbies
7   Michael Hooper  NSW Waratahs
6   Hugh McMeniman  WA Western Force
5   James Horwell (Capt.) Queensland Reds
4   Robert Simmons Queensland Reds
3   Benjamin Alexander  ACT Brumbies
2   Stephan Moore  ACT Brumbies
1   James Slipper  Queensland Reds
16   Saia Fainga’a  Queensland Reds
17   Scott Sio * ACT Brumbies
18   Sekope Kepu  NSW Waratahs
19   Scott Fardy * ACT Brumbies
20   Liam Gill  Queensland Reds
21   Nicholas White * ACT Brumbies
22   Quade Cooper  Queensland Reds
23   Tevita Kuridrani * ACT Brumbies
    HEAD COACH: Ewan McKenzie

* New test cap

New Zealand


15   Israel Dagg  Hawkes Bay
14   Benjamin Smith  Otago
13   Conrad Smith Wellington
12   Ma'a Nonu  Auckland
11   Julian Savea  Wellington
10   Aaron Cruden  Manawatu
9   Aaron Smith  Manawatu
8   Kieran Read  Canterbury
7   Richie McCaw (Capt.) Canterbury
6   Steven Luatua Auckland
5   Samuel Whitelock  Canterbury
4   Luke Romano  Canterbury
3   Owen Franks  Canterbury
2   Andrew Hore  Taranaki
1   Tony Woodcock  North Harbour
16   Keven Mealamu  Auckland
17   Benjamin Franks  Hawkes Bay
18   Charlie Faumuina  Auckland
19   Brodie Retallick  Bay of Plenty
20   Samuel Cane Bay of Plenty
21   Tawera Kerr-Barlow  Waikato
22   Beauden Barrett  Taranaki
23   Ryan Crotty * Canterbury
    HEAD COACH: Steven Hansen

* New test cap

No comments:

Post a Comment